Add Listing

Webinar: Combating GBV in the Philippines, Indonesia and Malaysia

UPCOMING WEBINAR: 4 DECEMBER 2020

The number of reported gender-based violence (GBV) cases continues to rise year on year across Southeast Asia. 2020 is no exception, and GBV has unfortunately become even more common across the region during the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Philippines, Malaysia, and Indonesia face many similar challenges with regards to human rights, democracy, and freedom of expression and association. Women’s rights is one such area, and gender-based violence in particular remains a problem for all three countries. Government-provided support is limited, especially in non-major urban areas; laws and regulations on GBV are inadequate; discrimination and victim blaming from law enforcement officials is common; and civil society remains a key provider of GBV support services.

Join this online discussion from the Southeast Asia Feminist Action Movement (@SEAFAMnetwork) to learn learn how grassroots feminist organisations and women’s human rights defenders are working to prevent GBV and provide support services to victims and survivors in the Philippines, Indonesia, and Malaysia.

Friday, 4 December 2020
15.00 PHT/MYT/WITA (14.00 WIB/16.00 WIT)

Register now: bit.ly/seafam4dec

The event will be subtitled in English and Indonesian.

Add Comment

Your email is safe with us.